Panoramas of New Fort

New Fort +30 698 712 0429

The New Fortress of Corfu (Fortezza Nuova) was constructed by the Venetians between 1576 and 1645 and dominates Corfu Town from its' position on the hill of San Marcos and therefore offers some of the best panoramic views of Corfu Town. The main structure of the fortress was built on two levels in order to protect both the (old) port area and Corfu Town itself. It's formidable design meant it successfully withstood the Ottoman forces in the siege of Corfu in 1716. It originally had walls that extended to the Old Fortress encircling a large area of the town but these were removed as part of the settlement ath saw Corfu with the other with Greece in 1864 . However preserved until today, without being accessible to the public, the tunnels that united the old guard. The new fortress suffered severe attacks and during the bombing period of WWII. It is a robust rigid structure, which stands imposing over the Old Port, from where it has access, and offers a unique panoramic view of the city and the open sea. The portal is decorated with a beautiful relief Lion of St. Mark, the emblem that ties eternal Fortress with Venice. Their marks left and the English: two English barracks, the one next to the gate and the other at the second level and there is a temple, probably the 17th century, the Virgin Spilaiotissa. Today, apart from the Navy facilities in New Fortress hosts exhibitions of photography, painting etc. while on the premises they find shelter concerts and other artistic activities. The New Fortress of Corfu (Fortezza Nuova), which dominates the hill of San Marcos, built by the Venetians in the 16th century, when it became an urgent need to protect the city, the security of which could no longer guarantee the Old Fortress. Building began in 1576 and was not completed than in 1645, although it has experienced several reconstructions and expansions since then. It is built on two levels in order to meet the dual role: to protect the port and the control of the hinterland. According to the story by the Venetian architect Francisco Vitelli to find building materials required had to demolish more than 2,000 buildings, mostly houses and churches. However between disasters and among one of the most beautiful gates of the city, Porta Reale. To Fortress suffered many blows over the centuries. The Corfiots themselves forced to destroy a large part, as most walls that united with the Old Fort, which surrounded the town, at the request of the Great Powers on the eve of the union of the Ionian Islands with Greece in 1864 . However preserved until today, without being accessible to the public, the tunnels that united the old guard. The new fortress suffered severe attacks and during the bombing period of WWII. It is a robust rigid structure, which stands imposing over the Old Port, from where it has access, and offers a unique panoramic view of the city and the open sea. The portal is decorated with a beautiful relief Lion of St. Mark, the emblem that ties eternal Fortress with Venice. Their marks left and the English: two English barracks, the one next to the gate and the other at the second level and there is a temple, probably the 17th century, the Virgin Spilaiotissa. Today, apart from the Navy facilities in New Fortress hosts exhibitions of photography, painting etc. while on the premises they find shelter concerts and other artistic activities.

Scholemvourgou & Solomou Dionysiou, 491 00 Corfu


This is a new site and we are constantly adding new content so please book mark your favourite page or visit our Facebook page Corfu Blue on Facebook for the latest updates. If you'd like to suggest a new business listing click on the appropriate button above or e-mail riviera(at)360vista.net .